Authorcon, or, What I Did On My Summer Vacation, plus some other news

Prepare yourself for a bunch of photos with this one, I just got back from Authorcon III in Williamsburg, VA, and I have pictures.

If you’ve never been to Authorcon, you want to. It is the premier Horror Lit con in the country.

But first, we dallied around Williamsburg itself, it was indeed historic, I mean, as much as could be with Coke and Pepsi readily available.

Now onto Authorcon, I sold books, I saw friends, I made friends, and I even remembered to take a few pics

With Mike Ennenbach author, and all around sweet heart
With author Donna Latham and the cursed object she gifted me with that is now my con mascot
With the wonderful Corrina Morse from No Remorse Reviews who came all the way from England, and has declared that America is now officially real.
West Virginia representing, with Jeremy Megargee and R.J. Roles
With the Stoker Award winning Tom Deady and my neighbor for the duration.
I may be an author, but I’m also a fan, the load that came home with me.

After Authorcon, we stopped at the Poe Museum, where, I went total fanboy

Poe’s Chair
The actual watch that inspired the Tell Tale Heart, I KNOW! Right???
My finished Poe/Rackham shoulder piece next to a bust of the man himself
I got to pet this black cat, in the Poe Museum, again, I KNOW! Right?
Right off the highway on the way home, how often do you get interesting food off the highway?

And now to other news…

I have seen the PDF of The Haunted States of America from Macmillan/Godwin, where your’s truly does the story for West Virginia. The illustrations are AMAZING. If you’ve got a middle grader who you want to follow in your ghoulish footsteps, I can’t recommend it enough.
You can pre-order it just about any darned bookstore you want! Coming July, 9th. I’m working on setting up some signings in my area, so more news as it comes.

See you all next year Authorcon, you were magical as always.

Leave a comment